19 Things I’ve Learned before I Turned 19

Veuillez noter: This is post is rather long. Take a minute to go grab and snack and get comfy. You’ve been warned….

Okay so this is either the fourth or fifth time I’ve tried to write this.

At first I had planned to draft a version last Monday afternoon, but somehow the four hours between work and class seemed to vanish as soon as I decided to “take a quick-lunch break”.

Then I planned to dedicate my Wednesday into drafting the perfect post, but I deemed myself unready so I spent the day reading other blogs and watching YouTube videos on how to properly brand yourself, and how to take Instagram photos that suit your esthetic, and what Snapchat filters to use to make yourself look like a relatable fairy princess dog with sparkly eyes and perfect skin (that last one was slightly embellished).

So then I planned to get up early Sunday morning to write an inspirational and thought-provoking piece as I sipped my tea and watched the sunrise. Undoubtedly I woke up with a splitting headache and period cramps meaning that I actually spent the morning in my bed praising the inventors of heating pads and counting down the hours until I could take my next dose of ibuprofen.

Which leads us to where we are now, 9:45pm on a Sunday rambling off excuses and writing a long intro that has nothing to do with what I actually want to talk about.

I’m not exactly sure why it took me so long to write this first post but I think it probably has to do with the fact that I am absolutely TERRIFIED!

You see this is my first official post as a Glendon eAmbassador which means a) I have successfully tricked enough people to get hired for an amazingly cool job where I get paid dolla dolla bills to write silly posts about my experiences during my undergrad; and b) Oh my god a whole bunch of people are going to read my silly posts about my experiences during my undergrad where I just used the phrase “dolla dolla bills”.

But now that I have successfully wasted enough of time worrying about what other people might think, I’ve decided to suck it up, get to writing, and push myself out of my comfort zone. Which, in turn, is exactly what I plan to spend my second year of Uni (and 20th year of life) doing.

 

Okay so now that we are done with that sappiness we can move on to what this post is actually about…MY BIRTHDAY!

 

That’s right in the mist of my first week of classes and my mini existential crisis I celebrated my 19th birthday (and all the fun things that come with being 19).

I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with my birthday.

When I was younger I was super jealous of my brother’s early August birthday since he could spend the day outside with friends, playing games and opening presents and eating cake without a care in the world. I however was stuck with the September birthday, which meant I was stuck at school with a bunch of kids who weren’t interested in singing me happy birthday since we were all still mourning the death of summer.

But now that I’m older, I kinda like having my birthday right at the beginning of the school year. It sorta solidifies the whole starting fresh thing. I get to use new pens in new notebooks while I look forward to all the new experiences I will have over the next year of my life.

But before I can launch myself head first into the future, I must take some time reflect on what I’ve learned so far on my 19 years on this planet.

So folks here you have it, inspired by one of my favorite Internet trends (second only to the 100 layers of ___________________ challenge) here are…

 19 Things I’ve Learned before I Turned 19

1. There is no such thing as a free lunch

When I was younger my Dad told me that this was the most important life lesson to learn. For a long time I thought it meant that no one would ever buy me lunch once I became an adult. Now I’m pretty sure it means that if you want something you better work for it because no else is going to get it for you. So yeah I agree it’s a pretty good life lesson to learn.

 

2. Asking a question doesn’t make you look stupid, it makes you look like you care.

 

3. Taking a multi-vitamin everyday either really works or I fall for placebo effects way too easily

 

4. É and E are two different sounds

5. Being grateful is the #1 way to feel happier about yourself

Now I like to bitch about things just as much as the next person, but I have noticed that harping on the negatives only makes you feel worse. There is always something to be grateful for, even if it’s just the fact that chocolate chip cookies exist (isn’t that amazing!)

6. It is great to have opinions as long as you keep an open mind and an open heart.

 

7. If you spend your whole life proving that you are responsible your grandma might buy you a shot glass for your birthday and tell you to go have real fun (or that might just be my family)

 

8. There is value in proof reading emails

 

9. Showing up is half the battle

Whether it’s to class, or a job interview, or any other anxiety filled activity just showing up on time, present, and ready to contribute puts you heads and tails above the rest.

 

10. Choosing your Tinder bio is way more fun than actually talking to people on Tinder

 

11. Just because you are the youngest/most unqualified person in the room doesn’t mean that you can’t add to the conversation

 

12. Being forced to make my bed every morning as a child has done me wonders in the adult world

13. If you want something, you need to ask for it

In order to get this job I sent various annoying e-mails and even dropped into the office to make sure my application was still on file. I’m pretty sure they hired me just so I would stop bugging them, but hey I got what I wanted. I spent a lot of my life waiting for opportunities to be handed to me. Turns out life doesn’t work that way.

 

14. Treat people with respect and kindness, even when that behaviour isn’t reciprocated.

 

15. Washing your dishes as soon as you are done with them is an easy way to feel productive.

 

16. BonPatron (unfortunately) will not fix all your French grammar mistakes

 

17. Comparison is the thief of self-love

I’m pretty sure I read this in a book somewhere but it is so true! I am really great at recognizing all the amazing things everyone else is doing but I’m very bad recognizing all the amazing things I’m doing. I am trying to work on that because I have learned that jealously pining over someone else’s life rather than celebrating everybody’s (including my own) success is not a very good way to live. 

 

18. Save your receipts

Apparently you need them for taxes. Oops

 

19. If you don’t believe you can do it, no one will.

 

And on that note I come full circle. While I may be absolutely petrified to start this new job, this new school year, and this new year of my life, I am prepared to come at it with the same tenacity I bring to catching the last 124 of the night.

I’m not quite sure what this next year will bring me but I hope you will stick around to find out.

À la prochaine,

Rebecca

 

Twitter: @RebeccaKGL

Instagram: @RebeccaKazdan

One thought on “19 Things I’ve Learned before I Turned 19

Leave a Reply

