Why Laughter is More Important Than Laundry

Okay real talk. I am desperately trying to write something that is brilliant and mind-bending and outlook altering but I honestly cannot think of anything thing right now… I am completely exhausted and I am void of my typical  wisdom with a side of comedic charm to share.

It is very evident that we have reached mid-November.

I’m stressed about a number of things including but not limited to the following:

  • My laundry is piling up but I don’t have any more money on my YU card and I’m too lazy to go online and figure out how to reload it.
  • The Gilmore Girls reboot is going to come out right when I have most amount of school work to do which means I won’t be able to watch it right away and the internet will be a minefield of spoilers.
  • I am dangerously close to running out of toothpaste, deodorant, and makeup remover but I have no clue when I’ll have time to do a Shoppers run

November is a hard month for most University students. Studies (that I have totally made up in order to make this joke) have shown that it is indeed the 11th month of the year when students most contemplate dropping out of school in order to pursue other career paths such as exotic dancing.

Assignments are due and exam dates are looming. You start getting your work back only to realize that maybe writing that essay at 2am the night before it was due was not the smartest idea. And no matter how much you try, you still end up smelling like a big ol’ pile of bacon ‘cause you be crispy from that burn out!

Now, I’m not going to sit here and complain about how stressed I am because I like to try to stay positive and I know that I am beyond lucky to be where I am. And I’m not going try to write something nice and motivational about managing your stress during exam time because I believe there is a lot of great stuff out there already (check out here, here, and here) and I’m not sure how much I would be able to add to that narrative.

What I am going to do however is give you a Netflix suggestion.

After almost two years of research, studies have proven (again there are no real studies, I’m making this all up as I go) that Netflix comedy specials are the best thing to watch when experiencing student stress for the following three reasons:

  1. They are the perfect length: Slightly longer than your typically 45 minute primetime TV episode, but still shorter than a full-length feature film therefore making comedy specials the perfect time filler for your lunch, dinner, or “Oh my god I can’t handle this anymore, I need a break!” break.
  2. They are self-contained: Unlike needy TV series that get you hooked and force you to keep watching episode after episode, comedy specials are a one-time thing. You can hit it and quit it, therefore eliminating all binge temptations and increasing productivity by 110%. (Keeping in mind that you are still procrastinating)
  3. They are funny: And there is a 0% chance that your favorite character will be killed off.

In order to further expand on my point I have included list of my favorite comedy specials for you view at your leisure:

Iliza Shlesinger

Specials Include: Freezing Hot, War Paint, & Confirmed Kills

Bo Burnham

Specials Include: what. & Make Happy

Aziz Ansari

Specials Include: Aziz Ansari Live at Maddison Square Garden & Burried Alive (and yes obviously Master of None is great too but wait until after exams to start it)

John Mulaney

Specials Include: New in Town & The Comback Kid

Heather McDonald:

Specials Include: I Don’t Mean to Brag

Are these comedy specials going to relieve all your stress, HELL NO! But a good joke never hurt anyone and it’s nice to know that you can still laugh even when you feel weight of the world on your shoulders. And as Stephen Colbert so gracefully stated “You cannot laugh and be afraid at the same time, and the devil cannot stand mockery.”

So study hard and laugh even harder. Good luck with those 2am writing sessions and I will talk to y’all next week!

À la prochaine!

Rebecca

Twitter: @RebeccaKGL

Instagram: @RebeccaKazdan

Snapchat: @becca_kaz

2 thoughts on “Why Laughter is More Important Than Laundry

Leave a Reply

