#WhyAreYUHere: Thoughts from a girl Who Doesn’t Know What She is Doing (or What I Learned from Playing An Evil Fairy Queen)

As a wrap up to the Fall semester Team Awesome challenged me to ponder my entire existence and all the life choices I’ve made up until now to answer the question #WhyAreYUHere

 

 

Why am I here?

 

What the hell kind of question is that!

 

I have been sitting in this Aroma Café for the past hour and a half, staring blankly at the blinking cursor on my screen trying to answer this question. (I also ate a Bureka so not all is lost.)

The truth of the matter is, I have no clue why I am here (at Glendon I mean, not Aroma. I came to Aroma to get said Bureka. It was worth it).

My University decision was a long and grueling process. My top-choice school changed depending on the day, which led to endless piles of Pro/Con lists and last minute second-guessing before finally picking good ol’ GL.

I would be lying if I told you I was 100% sold with Glendon right from the get go (you can read about my first time visiting the campus here) and in my first year I questioned my choice all the time.

Maybe I would have made more friends if I went to X school instead, or maybe I would have enjoyed X program better, or maybe I would have had better opportunities if I did X right after High School. (I have a tendency to over-romanticize situations in my head, I’m working on it.)

I will have no way of knowing for sure if I made the “right choice” (or if a “right choice” even exists) but I do know that I picked (and love) Glendon for very specific reasons including, but not limited to, the following:

  • We are in Toronto (I knew I did not want to go to a University town)
  • We offer guaranteed residence to students who apply by the deadline, meaning that I can experience living on campus but still be close enough to go visit my family on the weekends (and 90% of room are singles which is great for people like me who would most likely be the crazy roommate)
  • We have a strong international focus and 10% of students go on exchange each year (3x the national average)
  • We are bilingue

 

Here is a quick story about me:

 

When I was in grade 1, my mom got a phone call from my teacher suggesting that I drop out of the French Immersion program. She let my mom know that she thought I was struggling with the language because it took me a very long time to put my boots and jacket on for recess and she believed it was because I didn’t understand the directions in French. My mom politely responded that she appreciated the teacher’s concern but: “It doesn’t matter what language you speak, Rebecca takes a very long time to get ready, she is just slow”.

Luckily, my mom did not pull me out of the French Immersion program; however she did start to worry. So despite knowing little to no French, my mom spent the Winter Break helping me go over the homework and drilling the dictée words into my head (she also spent a good amount of time making me put on and take off my winter clothes in a timely fashion, but that is a story for another day.)

Fast-forward 14 years and here I am at Glendon, not only surviving but also thriving in a bilingual environment that continues to shape who I am as a student and a person.

Last week (editor’s note: okay so technically it’s been two weeks now but I’ve been busy, get off my back!) I talked about my favourite spot on campus, Théâtre Glendon, and this week I wanted to expand on how this place has impacted my learning.

Just recently I finished a run of Michel Tremblay’s Les Héros de nos enfances, my first French play ever (which is where the featured picture comes from, I don’t normally walk around in a short black dress with a half-filled bottle of JD… at least not in public).

The play intertwines a bunch of fairytales (think Into the Woods if Into the Woods was written by a sadistic French-Canadian) and I played Carabosse (think Maleficent minus Angelia Jolie’s legs and cheek bones), and oh boy did that crazy [insert explicative here] teach me a lot:

Things I have learned from playing a French, evil, sex-crazed, Fairy Queen:

  • How to laugh manically in French (le muahahaha)
  • How to threaten children in French (great tools to use when I become a teacher)
  • How to describe every element of by body, including my eyelids and earlobes, seductively in French (I don’t need to tell you when this is gonna come in handy)
  • And, that French is not just a list of grammar rules but rather a full and complex language that can connect you to various different people and cultures

 

Listen, I did not play this character perfectly. I mispronounced some words, used the wrong prepositions, and talked way too fast, but at the end of the day I performed in a French play, made French jokes, and real live Francophones laughed; something that little 6 year-old Rebecca could have never even dreamed of.

So what was the point of this long rambley post?

Well I guess it’s that even though I’m not 100% sure what I want to do with my life, I do know that Glendon and the opportunities I have had here will actively help me reach my ultimate goal of entertaining, connecting, and motivating as many people as I possibly can.

Why am I here? I really don’t know, but I’m so happy that I am.

À la prochaine,

Rebecca

Twitter: @RebeccaKGL

Instagram: @RebeccaKazdan

Read the rest of the team’s #WhyAreYUHere posts:

2 thoughts on “#WhyAreYUHere: Thoughts from a girl Who Doesn’t Know What She is Doing (or What I Learned from Playing An Evil Fairy Queen)

Leave a Reply

