The Truth About Traditions

Ho, Ho, Ho it’s a Holiday Special here at The Rebecca Project as #TeamAwesome has asked me to share my holiday traditions with #FêteGL (and yes I know this is the third hashtag challenge in a row but it’s the end of the year and I am running out of ideas!). So grab yourself nice cup of hot cocoa (don’t you dare drink eggnog instead because that shit is disgusting) and get ready for some festive goodness!

 

I was only 9 when I found out the truth.

 

Maybe that’s a little older than normal. I don’t know, I guess I—I just wanted to keep the magic going a little longer.

 

I mean, maybe I always knew that a creepy old man with diabetes sneaking in my house to leave me presents at night was improbable. Maybe I was skeptical to the fact that little unpaid workers were able make me an Easy-Bake oven with the same twisty tie accuracy of any Toys R Us model. And I definitely questioned the fact that no matter how many times my brother threw his Hot Wheels cars at me, he still ended up on the Nice List.

 

However, despite all this, I still desperately wanted to believe in magic of Christmas. And so every Christmas Eve, as we drove through the neighborhood looking at Christmas lights, I would stare devotedly at sky looking for any blinking red light that may be a certain happy-go-lucky, dentist loving, misfit reindeer’s nose.

 

This was my most cherished holiday tradition as a kid. Which is why my heart shattered when I asked my mom to tell me the truth about Santa Claus and she answered with a hesitant “Well…”

 

The next year, I tried desperately to keep this tradition alive, but it just wasn’t the same knowing that the blinking red light was just a plane.

 

My family has never celebrated a “traditional” Christmas. This is mainly due to the fact that my Dad’s side of the family is Jewish (but they don’t really follow all the rules) and a large portion of my Mom’s side of the family are Vegans (but they do follow all the rules.)

 

Now this has never really bothered me, particularly because I am not a huge fan of ham or turkey, and over the years my family has managed to create our own traditions including karaoke Hanukkah parties and Tofu Benedict Christmas brunches.

 

But I have noticed that the few holiday traditions that we do have are beginning to change.

 

I’m getting older and so is everyone around me. My family is growing, my friends are changing, and some of the magic of the holidays is fading away, as I realize that the things that meant a lot to me in the past no longer matter the same way.

 

Now I’m not saying this to be a Grinch and I sure that I won’t be visited by the ghosts of Christmas past, present, and future anytime soon, but I think it is important to note that University will undoubtedly change you; and this change becomes very evident when you start to force yourself back in to old traditions.

 

So this year I have decided to embrace the change and tell myself that it’s okay if Christmas is not the same as it was when I was younger. It’s totally normal to allow traditions fade or change to make room for the new festivities we introduce.

 

Tradition is wonderful but it is easy to get caught up in things we are doing rather than the reasons why we are doing them. So don’t waste time wishing you could turn planes into reindeer and instead embrace whatever the holidays have to offer.

 

À la prochaine,

Rebecca

Twitter: @RebeccaKGL

Instagram: @RebeccaKazdan

Leave a Reply

